PIP 4048, disconect output on low battery

non-EV Solar, Wind and other renewable power sources
non-EV batteries and other energy storage stuff
Forum rules
Important!
This forum is for discussion of Non-EV matters.
alex_vd_iest
Noobie

PIP 4048, disconect output on low battery

Post by alex_vd_iest »

Hello

First I will introduce myself,
I am Alex, I live in Holland, 28 years.
I have a background in electrical and mechanical engineering ,installs solar-systems with grid-tie inverters,
and I repair Industrial electronics for a living.

But i have a problem whit my own PIP inverter, I can't get this to work.

I have a PIP4048 from MPP solar with a 48V LifePO battery bank and 2.4 kW solarpanels

The problem is that my inverter disconnects everything when the battery is empty.
the output powes is switched off.

What I want, when the battery is “dead” it has to switch back to the grid (bypass mode).
I can't get this to work.

I also noticed that the inverter keeps drawing a small current from the battery when he is on bypass mode, can I do something on that?

i hope you can help me :roll:
thanks,
Alex

coulomb
Site Admin

Re: PIP 4048, disconect output on low battery

Post by coulomb »

alex_vd_iest wrote:
Sat, 28 Dec 2019, 03:14
I am Alex, I live in Holland, 28 years.
Welcome to the forum, Alex.
The problem is that my inverter disconnects everything when the battery is empty.
The output power is switched off.
That's pretty strange. Usually it will switch to utility input well before cutting off the output.
What are your settings for Output Source Priority setting (setting 01), setting 29 (low DC cutoff voltage), and back-to-utility voltage (setting 12)?

Or possibly, it's not happy with the AC-in voltage quality. I assume you're using grid power, not a generator?
Your grid voltage is presumably 230 V in Holland, so that should be fine. Is the AC icon (sine wave in a circle, a bit like a tennis ball) on solid, not flashing, not missing?