A career stuff up!

Introductions, general chit chat and off-topic banter.
Sparky Brother
Groupie

A career stuff up!

Post by Sparky Brother » Sat, 14 Feb 2009, 03:14

Guys, sorry for bothering you with my sh... but this is something that recently really freaks me out. As probably some of you know apart of my passion - the Electro Feroza conversion I am an Air conditioning tech trying to make my way into the electrical Industry. I`m currently in my second Year as an electrician apprentice.

Unfortunately my Employer was so dumb so they lost their licensed Sparky which consequently puts my new career in jeopardy.

This is appeal to anyone who possibly knows somebody willing to employ a person like me. The money is not an issue. I am just eager to get into that Industry for all good reasons.

I am in the South East of Melbourne so anything in a reasonable distance will do.

Any suggestions are most welcome

Sparky Brother
Groupie

A career stuff up!

Post by Sparky Brother » Tue, 17 Feb 2009, 03:49

Hmm!? 38 people watched the postage and none of them has any opinion? No wonder why Comet Boy lost his interest to this forum.

tdean
Groupie

A career stuff up!

Post by tdean » Tue, 17 Feb 2009, 04:14

Gidday Sparky Brother,

Why not be a bit proactive and start ringing a few electricians to find out if they need a second year apprentice? Thats the #1 thing employers want to see from apprentice's, some initiative.

Shouldnt be too hard to get a few bites if you grab the yellow pages and start at the beginning. Better still go around and visit their workshop in person, and leave a card if the answer is no. You'll be surprised who gets back to you, 'worked every time for me.

cheers,

Terry
"We only have one future, and it will be made of our dreams, if we have the courage to challenge convention." - Soichiro Honda

Sparky Brother
Groupie

A career stuff up!

Post by Sparky Brother » Tue, 17 Feb 2009, 04:40

Now that`s a spirit!