Page 1 of 1

EXFC/TTXGP Australia - 8/9th Oct

Posted: Sun, 09 Oct 2011, 22:55
by Thalass
So is anyone attending this round? If so you're lucky buggers haha. I have tried to find some kind of coverage and only found one blog post. It's a shame Ripperton and Voltron (woo) are out of the second race!

I hope there will be some videos uploaded in the next couple of days. Good luck Catavolt in the second race (hahaha)

EXFC/TTXGP Australia - 8/9th Oct

Posted: Tue, 11 Oct 2011, 10:45
by Speedily
Heres one of catavolt

EXFC/TTXGP Australia - 8/9th Oct

Posted: Tue, 11 Oct 2011, 14:35
by Catavolt
Jason Morris Race Report

Newcastle’s Team Catavolt is proud to announce that they are the outright winners of the first Electric motorcycle championship to be conducted in Australia.   


Jason Morris (Catavolt) & Daniel Sailer (Ripperton)
Picture by Tony Castley.

The series, known as Electric Formula Xtreme Championship (EFXC), was run over three rounds at Eastern Creek, Winton & Wakefield Racing Circuits and included the same three competitor’s at all three rounds.

Catavolt entered the final round at Goulburn’s Wakefield Park with the championship lead and with two races to be run over the weekend, any of the three competitors were a chance of taking the championship.

The riders were greeted with a damp qualifying on Saturday morning which unfortunately saw the Voltron entry go down on a greasy and very slippery track. The other two entries of Catavolt and Ripperton tippy toed their way around the circuit and it was Catavolt that ended up with pole position with a time of 1min32sec.

By race time around midday, the track had dried and although still cool, race 1 was run in dry conditions. After leading the race for the first 5 laps, Catavolt rider Jason Morris eventually brought the bike home in second place behind Daniel Sailer on the Ripperton bike with the Voltron’s Chris Jones limping home in third after running the race on half of his usual power due to damage suffered in his qualifying crash.

Catavolt’s second place in race 1 was enough to secure the overall championship win for them with one race still be run on Sunday.

But Sundays race didn’t eventuate as during race 1 on Saturday, the other two entries both suffered irrevocable damage to their machines and were forced to withdraw, leaving Catavolt as the last bike standing.

It was decided that as the race could not take place on Sunday that Catavolt’s rider Jason Morris would turn some exhibition laps and attempt to claim the circuit record for electric bikes. The record had been set in Saturday’s race by Rippertons Daniel Sailer, a time of 1min21.6 sec.

To end a perfect weekend for Catavolt, Jason was able to set a new circuit record for electric bikes with a time of 1min19.5 sec, improving the previous record by over a second and amazingly beating their previous testing time by over 10 seconds.

Team Catavolt owner and builder, Jon Eggenhuizen was thrilled with the championship results and pleased to see that his rider combined with the non-conventional hub drive motor proved to be reliable championship winning material.

The Team Catavolt Electric racing motorcycle would not have been able to compete if it wasn’t for the generosity of their sponsors, most notably the hub motor supplier Enertrac.

Team Catavolt, Jon & Jason would like to thank their sponsors Enertrac, NHP, M2R Helmets, , Electric Parts ,R&R Steel fabrication ,True Solar Time ,Which Bike, Applied Measurement , Batrium Tech and EKEN Power Bands for their generous support and they look forward to returning next year to defend their title with number 1 on the bike.

Builders Daniel Sailer(Ripperton), Jon Eggenhuizen (Catavolt)& Chris Jones(Voltron)
Picture by Anna Falcocchio
Video and Pictures to be posted soon
Blown Motor
Jason Morris On Daniels bike

EXFC/TTXGP Australia - 8/9th Oct

Posted: Thu, 13 Oct 2011, 19:14
by Catavolt
32 eFXC / TTXGP Australian Electric Motorcycle Race Series 2011 - Round 3 - Wakefield Park ... ideo_title
< ... ideo_title>

The final race report for the first ever Australian Electric Motorcycle Race Series. Watch as the teams overcome the technical challenges of keeping their bikes on the track. Chris smokes another two motors in the Voltron machine and even the infamous Ripperton R1, whose reliability has been outstanding so far, crosses the finish line with a flaming motor. Catavolt was on a lonely track for the final run but managed to set the record with a 1.19 lap. Video produced by Andy Marsh. Thanks to George Wilson for capturing the flaming Ripperton flyby. Until next season...

Catavolt at Wakefield Park Raceway ,Jason Morris Lap Record for electric motorcycle TTXGP TTX75

Jason Morris setting a Lap record on the Catavolt Electric Motorcycle 1:19.5 At Wakefield Park thats 10 seconds faster than our effort 6 months earlier.

EXFC/TTXGP Australia - 8/9th Oct

Posted: Tue, 18 Oct 2011, 16:42
by Thalass
Woo! Good luck next year, guys.