Hi folks, newbie here.

Technical discussion on converting internal combustion to electric
Thalass

Hi folks, newbie here.

Post by Thalass » Tue, 14 Aug 2007, 06:11

Hey all. Thought I'd do an intro post and put down on paper exactly what I'm looking for in an EV. I'm making this up as I go, more or less, so please bear with me!

I have been thinking about converting a vehicle to electric power for a little while now, but I hadn't really done any research until I saw Who Killed The Electric Car a few months ago. Since then I've been doing some reading, attempting to find information, and decide what kind of vehicle I want.

At the moment I'm tossing up between a bike, or a small car (a Mini, most likely, if I can get a hold of one), though I'm leaning towards the bike.

From what I've gleaned the bike would be an easier conversion - but of course I don't have a bike license yet, so that's another step in the process compared to a car.

Whatever type it ends up being, my EV would need to have a range of at least 50km. This would give me the range to get to work and back, with a few kms spare just in case. It would also obviously need to be able to keep up with traffic, the limit is 80km/h along my route, mostly. But 110km/h (or so... heh) would be preferred.

I'm not sure which is better: DC or AC, but I don't much like commutators or brushes or, for that matter, potentiometers. All that wear and tear, and pots get a bit jumpy as they wear out, which wouldn't be much fun if I'm riding along in traffic and the poor bike isn't sure how fast I want to go. heh. So I'm leaning in the direction of AC. (and possibly some kind of optical sensor for throttle/accelerator control)