What kind of unexpected challenges arose when you started converting your ICE motorcycle to electric?

Technical discussion on converting internal combustion to electric
theeeatr
Noobie

What kind of unexpected challenges arose when you started converting your ICE motorcycle to electric?

Post by theeeatr »

I got inspired by Benjamin Nelson's videos in a racing game from apknite and I am considering purchasing a salvage bike and converting it to an electric motorcycle. I am an electric engineer so motors and controllers don't worry me too much but rest of the stuff is out of my league. With initial research, I figured, it will be a costly ( about $8000-$9000 for the specifications that I want) and time-consuming project. So just curious what kind of unexpected difficulties have you encountered during the course of your project. I want to get a decent picture of what I am getting into before I sink money in it.
jonescg

Re: What kind of unexpected challenges arose when you started converting your ICE motorcycle to electric?

Post by jonescg »

Well the trick is to never apply a financial reasoning - you will always lose and that metric makes it look really bad. It's best to do it for other reasons, none of them financial.
Otherwise, awesome! Do it, you will never regret it.
In my case, I got a custom chassis fabricated. The motor I wanted to use for the race bike would never fit inside a Japanese bike frame, let alone leave room for batteries. So I bit the bullet and got a custom chassis built. Not cheap, but zero compromise.
Pick your motor first, and try to find the best place for it in the frame. Then work with what space remains for inverters and batteries. You will fast run out of room - so don't let weight be the first enemy - make volume your first battle, then weight can come second. Cost is a distant fourth or so.