advice?

Technical discussion on converting internal combustion to electric
Ed.
Noobie

advice?

Post by Ed. »

Hi, I'm new to this and need some advice. A few years ago I purchased a '98 four door Rav, with the intention of converting it when its current ICE got too tired, I figured it was the best type of vehicle as it was easy for parts, had the ground clearance, (I'm on the east coast of Tas), had a fair bit of room for batteries and hey it's a toyota. It has no rust, and the body just needs a good spray coat. Now my questions. Is it worth it, (we are off grid solar)? Is it the right kind of car? Good Books? What does the Tas Gov allow? If so should I use I drive motor/existing clutch, or mount 2 front and rear, or use the cv shafts and mount 4 drives directly? It's really hilly where we are so picking up charge is a big advantage I guess. Answers to any or all of these questions would be really cool. Thanks.
reecho

Re: advice?

Post by reecho »

Is this a AWD model? Manual or Auto??
woody

Post by woody »

It's easiest to keep the gearbox and drivetrain; especially if the engine is transverse - you end up doing a lot less engineering.

I assume it's a manual RAV 4; not many convert automatics.

Toyota US Adid an all-electric RAV4 around 95/96 - not sure what parts they used it would be interesting to look at.

Worth it? Depends on how much you value your time / enjoyment of driving / achieving
Planned EV: '63 Cortina using AC and LiFePO4 Battery Pack
Ed.
Noobie

Post by Ed. »

reecho wrote: Sat, 19 Aug 2017, 08:55 Is this a AWD model? Manual or Auto??
It's a partial 4wd, I think that is what was called awd, but it can be disengaged.
reecho

Post by reecho »

woody wrote: Sat, 19 Aug 2017, 11:37 Toyota US Adid an all-electric RAV4 around 95/96 - not sure what parts they used it would be interesting to look at.
Tesla did the drivetrain for the 2nd gen RAV4 in the US..

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_RA ... generation
4Springs
Site Admin

Post by 4Springs »