seeking advise - EV batteries oriented towards performance

How do you store and manage your electricity?
HindooCow
Noobie

seeking advise - EV batteries oriented towards performance

Post by HindooCow » Sun, 12 May 2019, 21:28

Hi guys, looking for your help and expertise...

I've been researching the best options regarding batteries in a performance-oriented EV, and thought you could help. Ive been researching EV's for the past 3 years or so, but still have some holes in my knowledge RE battery tech(chemistry/physics)

In general Lifepo4 seems like a solid option RE performance, however some of the other options seem to be worth considering:

:lead, -heavy, -short life, +cheap, -probably physically too big for my required power
:lifepo, + good all-rounder, +battery life, -expensive
:something weird like salt water batteries?
:NiCAD / NiMH?
:Tesla modules +power to weight, -expensive, -integration
:other EV manufacturer batteries such as Chev/Mitsubishi/Toyota
:your recommendation?

Its still early days. Im looking for something that wont break the budget but is capable of delivering the goods when I upgrade from my petty 25hp 8" DC to a high powered AC motor(the most likely next step).

My, vehicle is a 1989 daihatus charade, pre converted to a budget EV. It should end up at about 1000kg once all the mods are complete. Im willing to slowly improve handling/brakes/reliability/power until everything is sorted. I've sold my previous hot hatch(renault megane R.S. - approx 270Hp) to fund this project. Im chasing a very solid power to weight ratio.

The renault was great, but to be honest I had become bored with it at 1330kg/270Hp. The daihatsu is to be road registered as a semi-daily driver with a focus on hillclimb motorsport events.

Not too concerned with range, as ill only require about 60ks (although Im expecting anything that can output the required power will probably have a larger range than that?)

Im willing to buy second hand batteries.