safety switches

Open for any sort of non-technical discussion regarding EVs
sparau
Groupie

safety switches

Post by sparau »

please forgive my newbness :) and electrically technical stupidity (i am a computer programmer - not an electrician or an electronic engineer - my brother is but he took a well paid job in the UAE is no help - the bugger)

In my researching i have not come across the concept yet of a safety switch for an ev - ie. like the 1ms jobbies fitted to houses.

it seems to me that 400a @ 144v would hurt somewhat if something cut the main power feed and ground it to a part of the chassis making a partial circuit. i guess it would be unlikely as ? you would have to cut / connect both the + and - to a part of the chassis and bridge it but... just wondering.
acmotor

safety switches

Post by acmotor »

sparau,
I am not certain I can extract the question out of that ?

A partial circuit is not a circuit and so is safe, partially, until something completes the circuit.

Are you thinking of earth leakage detectors as used on AC mains in houses ?
Yes, DC versions can be fitted to an EV.
The leakage current, particularly with wet wiring or motor, can be an issue though.

The best thing is to have no exposed terminals anywhere in an EV.
The voltage is less than the 240V mains lead draped across your feet right now !
(mind you that power source is connected to earth and so a fault can be detected)
iMiEV MY12     110,230km in pure Electric and loving it !
sparau
Groupie

safety switches

Post by sparau »

acmotor wrote: sparau,
I am not certain I can extract the question out of that ?

lol Image
acmotor wrote:A partial circuit is not a circuit and so is safe, partially, until something completes the circuit.

this is what i am thinking of - lets say the positive shorts out to the subframe for your engine - the negative shorts to the chassis - you lean over the side and touch the subframe - circuit complete.