Importin i-Miev or Leaf from Japan…?

Open for any sort of non-technical discussion regarding EVs
martinwinlow
Noobie

Post by martinwinlow » Mon, 03 Feb 2014, 02:55

Hi,

I'm a UK resident and recently bought a 2011 Peugeot-badged i-Miev (Peugeot call it an 'Ion') with 3k4 miles on it for a reasonable £9k5 (AU$17k) - well, I thought it was reasonable!

I have family in Perth, Esperence and Tasmania and was intrigued to see that prices of the i-Miev are somewhat higher in Oz than they are here. That in turn led me to look at what used i's are going for in Japan (where they must be most common) and found they are somewhat cheaper than AU ones...

So, question… has anyone ever imported a used i from Japan, and if so, what was the experience like? I ask as one of my family has expressed an interest…

Regards, Martin Winlow.
Regards,
Martin WInlow

antiscab

Post by antiscab » Mon, 03 Feb 2014, 05:06

to be able to import one you would have to have owned it personally over seas for at least a year, and be able to show you lived with it

all the other ways of doing a grey import require the car not to have been sold officially within Australia before

so perhaps doable with a RHD Tesla S (which has yet to be sold here) but not so much a leaf or iMiev (which has been on sale here for some time)

btw - second hand iMiev's in Australia are around the AUS$20k mark so not much more (specifically the 2010/11 versions)

don't worry - they're cars, they'll depreciate
Matt
2017 Renault zoe - 25'000km
2007 vectrix - 156'000km
1998 prius - needs Batt
1999 Prius - needs batt
2000 prius - has 200 x headway 38120 cells

Gabz

Post by Gabz » Mon, 03 Feb 2014, 14:45

I can't see it being worth while a LEAF is $39k new probably able to get a demo for $35k. there are still ex-demo i-mievs for $24k and they are 2012 models. (14 last time i checked carsales.com.au)

add the extra cost of insurance because it's a grey import etc..

Troglodyte
Groupie