PIP-5048MG Batteryless operation

non-EV Solar, Wind and other renewable power sources
non-EV batteries and other energy storage stuff
Forum rules
Important!
This forum is for discussion of Non-EV matters.
Post Reply
dRdoS7
Groupie
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri, 28 Sep 2018, 12:28

PIP-5048MG Batteryless operation

Post by dRdoS7 »

Hi,

As per Subject: Has anybody run their 5048MG in Batteryless mode long term?

I've found this post: https://powerforum.co.za/topic/3687-pip ... id-assist/

It mentions a possible grid feedback.

I'm hopefully returning my NiFe cells soon. Seller has agreed to me returning them for a full refund. Lucky I hung on to the crates & packing. Still dragging his heels with the first 50% though.

Once I send them back, I'm without battery for a while, maybe a month, so I'm hoping to run without, but I don't want to stuff up the inverter.

Thanks,

dRdoS7
paulvk
Groupie
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri, 23 Oct 2015, 23:45
Real Name: Paul
Location: Sydney

Re: PIP-5048MG Batteryless operation

Post by paulvk »

Sorry to hear your NiFe did not work out.
I have now been pulling 70Ah out of 38 cells each night across the lead acid bank.
I will go into detail in the NiFe posts later.
birdibird
Groupie
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue, 11 Sep 2018, 18:17
Location: Alpujarra, Sierra Nevada, Granada, Spain

Re: PIP-5048MG Batteryless operation

Post by birdibird »

I have used the MG long term batteryless in both off-grid and on-grid situations.
It works fine.
I did not measure though if there was any grid feedback with the on-grid setup, so I cannot answer that....
dRdoS7
Groupie
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri, 28 Sep 2018, 12:28

Re: PIP-5048MG Batteryless operation

Post by dRdoS7 »

Hi,
birdibird wrote: Thu, 08 Oct 2020, 01:32 I have used the MG long term batteryless in both off-grid and on-grid situations.
It works fine.
I did not measure though if there was any grid feedback with the on-grid setup, so I cannot answer that....
Thanks for the info.

I should be able to tell if there's any marked increase in exports, as there are 2 monitors on the grid-tied system (one from the utility, and one of mine which uploads to PVOutput). Plus, there's the reading of the GT inverter, which is fairly close in value to the other 2 (except I have to manually read it). I have noticed that the Utility reading is always slightly higher than the GT inverter reading.

Still have my NiFes, they maybe going back to the seller next week.

There's been a bit of a delay: the transport company won't pick up from my home, and I'm not taking them across town in a trailer to their depot.

I contacted another transport company, but haven't given a price yet. At least they will pick up from home.

I'll have to go batteryless soon anyway, as I've almost run out of distilled water! About 3 litres left.

The LFP I have ordered are in port, don't know how long it takes for Customs to process them. They are about 70km from here, in a shipping container. Could be weeks.

dRdoS7
dRdoS7
Groupie
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri, 28 Sep 2018, 12:28

Re: PIP-5048MG Batteryless operation

Post by dRdoS7 »

Hi,

I turned off the battery bank, and ran the inverter in "Batteryless" mode while we went away for a week.

We returned today, and I found the inverter had an Error #8, and was in fault mode. Not very handy. At least the inverter bypass I have made sure we had power for the freezer, otherwise it could have been a mess when we returned.

Don't know when it occured as I had the monitoring PC off while away. Probably should have left it on. Not that it would make any difference.

dRdoS7
birdibird
Groupie
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue, 11 Sep 2018, 18:17
Location: Alpujarra, Sierra Nevada, Granada, Spain

Re: PIP-5048MG Batteryless operation

Post by birdibird »

look in the MG / GK topic. There is updated firmware which addresses this issue.
dRdoS7
Groupie
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri, 28 Sep 2018, 12:28

Re: PIP-5048MG Batteryless operation

Post by dRdoS7 »

Hi,
birdibird wrote: Thu, 26 Nov 2020, 07:58 look in the MG / GK topic. There is updated firmware which addresses this issue.
Not sure any of them fix the 08 Error. I was hoping for MPPSolar to send me a FW update. They haven't replied to my last 2 emails.

I have bought an LD03-16B12 (other bits I'll buy/scrounge shortly) so that I can build an "08 Error Buster": As seen on the ZA PowerForum.

Had a second #08 Error last week (batteryless mode) when we were away again. In theory, we won't be running in batteryless or by-pass again (at least over summer). Unless there is really bad solar weather, or the LFP bank fails.

Thanks,

dRdoS7
paulvk
Groupie
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri, 23 Oct 2015, 23:45
Real Name: Paul
Location: Sydney

Re: PIP-5048MG Batteryless operation

Post by paulvk »

Can you not use the relay in the inverter to do this.
dRdoS7
Groupie
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri, 28 Sep 2018, 12:28

Re: PIP-5048MG Batteryless operation

Post by dRdoS7 »

paulvk wrote: Thu, 26 Nov 2020, 13:45 Can you not use the relay in the inverter to do this.
:?:
paulvk
Groupie
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri, 23 Oct 2015, 23:45
Real Name: Paul
Location: Sydney

Re: PIP-5048MG Batteryless operation

Post by paulvk »

I use the generator start relay to activate my neutral earth when in inverter mode could you do the same to disconnect in bypass mode.
The more advanced way would be to use another micro to ask the buss volts and disconnect if too high.
dRdoS7
Groupie
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri, 28 Sep 2018, 12:28

Re: PIP-5048MG Batteryless operation

Post by dRdoS7 »

Hi,
paulvk wrote: Thu, 26 Nov 2020, 16:37 I use the generator start relay to activate my neutral earth when in inverter mode could you do the same to disconnect in bypass mode.
The more advanced way would be to use another micro to ask the buss volts and disconnect if too high.
I had a moment, or two of lyxdexianess! Even read it twice.

I read it as
You can not use the relay in the inverter to do this.
:oops:

How embarassment.

I actually did similar early on: I had the inverter relay operate a "mains disconnect relay". That was to prevent the upstream RCBO tripping. That's not a problem now, as I had a sparkie put in a separate circuit which, being 50A, only required a CB.

I'm going to use the 08 Error Buster, seeing I've bought the AC-DC.

dRdoS7
Post Reply