Newbie question about practicalities of charging and range

Discussion about EV/Battery charging infrastructure, Electric highways etc.
Warb
Noobie

Newbie question about practicalities of charging and range

Post by Warb »

I'm new to the world of EV's, but my wife and I are interested in the "idea" of an electric car. We've been discussing the issue and have a couple of questions regarding the practicalities of EV charging and ownership.

There's a lot of talk at present about fast chargers, but I'm not sure how these will work (from a practical viewpoint) in the real world. I do understand the change of habits required to slow charge whenever you can, rather than to fill an empty tank, but for those of us in rural areas it's not that simple. On a long journey we might need to use fast chargers, and this is where the problems seem to start. It's fine to say we have the technology for a 350kW charger, but do we have the infrastructure? 350kW is a lot of power, and that's only charging a single car - the 30 minute charge may take a lot longer if you're 4th in the queue, especially if people behave as they do now and take 10minutes to pay for their fuel (and buy coffee, groceries etc.). Does the existing local grid have the capacity to supply multiple 350kW chargers? Or are we looking at completely new supplies dropped straight from the high voltage grid? Given the instability of our existing grid, where almost any thunderstorm cause an outage, can it actually cope? And for those who live in towns, is there sufficient capacity in the local transformers to allow every household to add several kW of constant overnight draw? I've seen a great deal of talk about the actual charging, and the source of the power (renewables etc.), but very little about the bit in between! If every house on a street plugs in a couple of cars, even on 15amp circuits, that's a lot of extra power through the transformer. What headroom is there to accommodate this?