tesla & volt solution to GFCI tripping

Volt Interest Group
Post Reply
User avatar
g4qber
Senior Member
Posts: 1730
Joined: Sat, 31 Jul 2010, 06:27
Real Name: Joseph
Location: Perth
Contact:

tesla & volt solution to GFCI tripping

Post by g4qber » Sun, 11 Aug 2013, 07:59

http://www.teslamotorsclub.com/showthre ... ouble-GFCI

http://www.teslamotorsclub.com/showthre ... opic/page2

http://www.teslamotorsclub.com/archive/ ... -4593.html

ensure that one charges volt and tesla on non-GFCI circuits.

http://gm-volt.com/forum/showthread.php ... olden-Volt

"Since it sounds like this is a dedicated outlet for EV use, I suggest you get rid of the GFCI outlet and put in a QUALITY normal outlet instead
There is a GFCI built into the EVSEs
WOT

http://gm-volt.com/forum/showthread.php ... df7e3e27bf



got volt back from Melville Holden.
Holden don't want to know about other "3rd party" EVSEs; they just ensure that Holden certified EVSEs work with the volt - eg. ex-better place.
so it looks like e-station's circontrol wall mounted EVSE is the only EVSE so far that charges at 15A with the volt.

2 reasons I don't use the Holden EVSE
a) only charges at 10A Max
b) not lockable; so can be stolen more easily
Last edited by g4qber on Sat, 10 Aug 2013, 22:13, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Gabz
Senior Member
Posts: 580
Joined: Thu, 08 Aug 2013, 03:30
Real Name: Gabriel Noronha
Location: Maitland NSW
Contact:

tesla & volt solution to GFCI tripping

Post by Gabz » Sun, 11 Aug 2013, 20:34

g4qber wrote: ensure that one charges volt and tesla on non-GFCI circuits.


Well they'll have issues in australia as all plugs GPOS and lighting are required to be on a RCD (GFCI) according to AS3000, hot water heaters i think are still except.

Post Reply