Canion dongle

Mitsubishi EV Interest Group
reecho
Senior Member
Posts: 773
Joined: Sun, 17 Apr 2011, 02:39
Real Name: Richard
Location: Perth WA
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by reecho »

First thing I want to equip my new I-Miev with is Canion. Feel free to share your experiences with different dongles so I can get an idea. I see the local Scantool distributor in Oz is nil stock. Where can I get said dongles???
User avatar
Gabz
Senior Member
Posts: 580
Joined: Thu, 08 Aug 2013, 03:30
Real Name: Gabriel Noronha
Location: Maitland NSW
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by Gabz »

odblink lx

I have the green one it works. but i don't leave it plugged in 24/7 and don't drive with canion running.
Corporate Member Recharging NSW Pty Ltd. http://rechargingnsw.com.au/
me68
Groupie
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon, 19 May 2014, 09:08
Real Name: Martin
Location: Austria
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by me68 »

Please have a look to caniOn@Google Play Store.

We recommend OBDLink MX (scantool.net) or STN1170 OBD-II Adapter (ahdesign.us). The new OBDLink LX as reported by Gabz is also running (as expected from the manufacturer description).

It's important to have an instruction set with filter commands supported by the dongle, because we only want to see a subset of all data from the can-bus caused by performance issues. Therefore we need filter commands and the cheap dongles do not support these.


Martin
... en route with a Citroen C-Zero, Bj. 8/2012 (http://www.spritmonitor.de/en/detail/532466.html)
... our website: http://www.facebook.com/emobility.at
Malm
Groupie
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat, 17 May 2014, 10:18
Real Name: João Ricardo Soares
Location: Tábua-Portugal
AIM: Est. da Lameira, Ed. Choupal, Bl. A , 2º D

Canion dongle

Post by Malm »

I have a STN1170 OBD-II and Canion running on a Samsung Note 3. Works fine. I use it all the time (driving, at charge). Never take the dougle out, always in the can-bus. Never had problems with that.
rhills
Site Admin
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri, 25 Jul 2008, 01:57
Real Name: Rob Hills
Location: Waikiki, WA

Canion dongle

Post by rhills »

Anyone know if the Canion would work with an Outlander PHEV? Just took delivery of ours last week and still working my way slowly through the manual. What does the dongle plug into on the iMiev?
Rob Hills
AEVA Webmaster
2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Aspire PHEV
Petrol Usage to last refill: Jul 2014 - Oct 2020
Total Petrol: 756.3L
ODO: 67508
Av Consumption: 1.12 L/100km
User avatar
g4qber
Senior Member
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat, 31 Jul 2010, 06:27
Real Name: Joseph
Location: Perth
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by g4qber »

Gabz can you do me a favour and keep your dongle plugged in and used for at least 10 journeys ?
Tia
Do you have a nexus 7?

Will be interesting to see if you get the same freeze I get with my mx
Last edited by g4qber on Wed, 21 May 2014, 05:15, edited 1 time in total.
2020 Model 3 SR+ - Delivered Fri 17 Jan ‘20 - k kms 59
2009 Tango - http://www.evalbum.com/211
User avatar
Gabz
Senior Member
Posts: 580
Joined: Thu, 08 Aug 2013, 03:30
Real Name: Gabriel Noronha
Location: Maitland NSW
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by Gabz »

asus transformer t300
Samsung mini s4 dual sim
and a google nexus 5 is what I've tested it with.

I even through i know the CAN buss is a priority based protocol i still don't like the idea of creating extra traffic on the bus while i drive.
Corporate Member Recharging NSW Pty Ltd. http://rechargingnsw.com.au/
User avatar
g4qber
Senior Member
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat, 31 Jul 2010, 06:27
Real Name: Joseph
Location: Perth
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by g4qber »

Lol. You should be ok as long as you don't have a volt
2020 Model 3 SR+ - Delivered Fri 17 Jan ‘20 - k kms 59
2009 Tango - http://www.evalbum.com/211
me68
Groupie
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon, 19 May 2014, 09:08
Real Name: Martin
Location: Austria
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by me68 »

Gabz wrote:I even through i know the CAN buss is a priority based protocol i still don't like the idea of creating extra traffic on the bus while i drive.


Hello!

You do not create extra traffic on the can bus, because caniOn does not send any command to the can bus, only listening passive.

I have the dongle always plugged in and caniOn running.

Martin
... en route with a Citroen C-Zero, Bj. 8/2012 (http://www.spritmonitor.de/en/detail/532466.html)
... our website: http://www.facebook.com/emobility.at
User avatar
offgridQLD
Senior Member
Posts: 1827
Joined: Tue, 23 Jul 2013, 16:05
Real Name: Kurt
Location: Fleurieu Peninsula, SA

Canion dongle

Post by offgridQLD »

I always have the dongle plugged in and canion isnt stable on 2013 nexus 7. Some times it can run 2 hrs straight 3 times in row and other times in can drop out 3 times over a 10 min drive. Its a bit hit and miss.

Though I find bluetooth on the nexus 7 isn't it's strong point. For example if you try and stream music for example Pandora over a wifi connection and then send it to a bluetooth speaker at the same time it stutters and droppes out. Plug headphones in and its fine. It's not a lack of processing power as that should be a walk in the park for the devices spec but more a bug with bluetooth.

That said canion could be another issue altogether.

The thing I find canion most useful for when driving is keeping track of my avarage whr/km over my long trips. My typical driving is 98 - 102 whr km when taking it easy. When I see it creeping over that I can adjust my driving style to keep it in that range that ensures i get to my destination with adequate reserves.

Cell voltages, balance and temp are handy but really only useful when you're seeking out a problem. Or testing some new condition your driving under.

Kurt
Last edited by offgridQLD on Thu, 22 May 2014, 16:48, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
g4qber
Senior Member
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat, 31 Jul 2010, 06:27
Real Name: Joseph
Location: Perth
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by g4qber »

I presume you have the scantools dongle kurt?
2020 Model 3 SR+ - Delivered Fri 17 Jan ‘20 - k kms 59
2009 Tango - http://www.evalbum.com/211
User avatar
offgridQLD
Senior Member
Posts: 1827
Joined: Tue, 23 Jul 2013, 16:05
Real Name: Kurt
Location: Fleurieu Peninsula, SA

Canion dongle

Post by offgridQLD »

Yes I have the scan tools dongle.

Kurt
User avatar
g4qber
Senior Member
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat, 31 Jul 2010, 06:27
Real Name: Joseph
Location: Perth
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by g4qber »

Have you thought of getting the batman dongle?

I have found it more stable both on 2012 1st gen nexus 7 and Sony Xperia ultra

When was last time you unplugged your dongle?
Last edited by g4qber on Thu, 22 May 2014, 18:23, edited 1 time in total.
2020 Model 3 SR+ - Delivered Fri 17 Jan ‘20 - k kms 59
2009 Tango - http://www.evalbum.com/211
User avatar
offgridQLD
Senior Member
Posts: 1827
Joined: Tue, 23 Jul 2013, 16:05
Real Name: Kurt
Location: Fleurieu Peninsula, SA

Canion dongle

Post by offgridQLD »

It's not that important to me to justify spending anymore money on. As long as it works long enough to check the cells now and then it's ok.

Though perhaps good advice for anyone starting from scratch.

The last time I unplugged my dongle would have been perhaps 12 weeks ago or more. When I tested another persons Imiev for them.

Kurt
Last edited by offgridQLD on Thu, 22 May 2014, 18:30, edited 1 time in total.
reecho
Senior Member
Posts: 773
Joined: Sun, 17 Apr 2011, 02:39
Real Name: Richard
Location: Perth WA
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by reecho »

I have ordered a Scantool MX from Ebay....Lets see how it goes....
User avatar
g4qber
Senior Member
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat, 31 Jul 2010, 06:27
Real Name: Joseph
Location: Perth
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by g4qber »

great will be interesting if you get the same freezes as I get with acmotor's and my mx dongles.
do you have an android tablet?

good to see ebay are selling them at $US99 for mx and $US69 for lx
Last edited by g4qber on Tue, 27 May 2014, 04:06, edited 1 time in total.
2020 Model 3 SR+ - Delivered Fri 17 Jan ‘20 - k kms 59
2009 Tango - http://www.evalbum.com/211
reecho
Senior Member
Posts: 773
Joined: Sun, 17 Apr 2011, 02:39
Real Name: Richard
Location: Perth WA
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by reecho »

Yes I grabbed a refurb 2013 Nexus 7 as well.....
User avatar
g4qber
Senior Member
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat, 31 Jul 2010, 06:27
Real Name: Joseph
Location: Perth
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by g4qber »

I thought of selling you my mx dongle but didn't want you I have a dodgy one
Last edited by g4qber on Tue, 27 May 2014, 10:19, edited 1 time in total.
2020 Model 3 SR+ - Delivered Fri 17 Jan ‘20 - k kms 59
2009 Tango - http://www.evalbum.com/211
User avatar
offgridQLD
Senior Member
Posts: 1827
Joined: Tue, 23 Jul 2013, 16:05
Real Name: Kurt
Location: Fleurieu Peninsula, SA

Canion dongle

Post by offgridQLD »

I have a feeling the bluetooth on the nexus 2013 nexus 7 is a strong contender for the issue.

Great tablet but bluetooth has some issues.

Then again it could just be bluetooth in general on android devices has its issues.

I think the best question to ask is. Has anyone been using Canion regularly and for long periods while driving without any dropout issues at all?. If there is a yes answer to that then we can start getting somewhere.

Kurt
Last edited by offgridQLD on Tue, 27 May 2014, 10:27, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
acmotor
Senior Member
Posts: 3605
Joined: Thu, 26 Apr 2007, 03:30
Real Name: Tuarn
Location: Perth,Australia

Canion dongle

Post by acmotor »

I can run my mx BT dongle on the Great Wall v200 diesel ute and it is bullet proof with same android phone. This is using the OBD link software from App Store. This is great as you can display a live turbo boost programable gauge.
The GW runs up to 23psi boost and vast common rail fuel pressure. Fuel consumption and graphing are also avail.

The same mx BT dongle runs faultless on a Mitsubishi 380.

In the i it has run for an hour but never a full trip. Interestingly the dropout could be occurring at speed with High accelerator ? Though often just doesn't want to start. A phone call on the mobile (s4) will always drop it out.

Perhaps the big difference in the i is the high data rate ? All those cell voltages etc ?
And as I mentioned before, I wonder if other BT activity or nearby devices are an issue ?
Surely the canion software can reset itself and try again seamlessly though ?

J, are you saying the batman is better but not solid ?
iMiEV MY12     110,230km in pure Electric and loving it !
reecho
Senior Member
Posts: 773
Joined: Sun, 17 Apr 2011, 02:39
Real Name: Richard
Location: Perth WA
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by reecho »

So there is a possibility that my 2010 won't show batt volts and temps??

Is this a software issue with Canion or is the data not thrown about the CAN??
User avatar
offgridQLD
Senior Member
Posts: 1827
Joined: Tue, 23 Jul 2013, 16:05
Real Name: Kurt
Location: Fleurieu Peninsula, SA

Canion dongle

Post by offgridQLD »

I seem to remember having dropouts running it on my 2010 Isuzu Dmax with torque app. Though I only used it once in that car 2 hr trip as it didn't really show my anything useful that wasn't already on the dash (perhaps it was the app I was running). Will have to test again some time.

Kurt
User avatar
g4qber
Senior Member
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat, 31 Jul 2010, 06:27
Real Name: Joseph
Location: Perth
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by g4qber »

Batman is 100% reliable IMHO
But it is skeletal
Ie soldering n circuitboard exposed to the elements
Like a hot rod or dragster

Scantools make a polished but freezing version. Hopefully they'll release a firmware update. But it could also be android kitkat. 4.4.3 is coming out soon. I will need to get my mx back from Andre
2020 Model 3 SR+ - Delivered Fri 17 Jan ‘20 - k kms 59
2009 Tango - http://www.evalbum.com/211
User avatar
carnut1100
Groupie
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue, 24 Feb 2009, 16:39
Real Name: Greg Milligan
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by carnut1100 »

I've now got an android tablet, Samsung galaxy tab 3...keen to get canion running, just need the dongle...
me68
Groupie
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon, 19 May 2014, 09:08
Real Name: Martin
Location: Austria
Contact:

Canion dongle

Post by me68 »

I checked my database: btcan.db is now 250MB. There are 26.118 records in ODOLOG (26.118km), 28.220 records in CELL_TEMPS & CELL_VOLTS (28.220 / 60 = 470 observed cell hours) and 1.940.865 records in SEC_LOG (1.940.865 / 3.600 = 539 hours operation).

The android tablet is always connected via USB-adapter to 12V-outlet. I use "plug in launcher" app to start canion autmatically, if usb-power is available and use switch "autoclose.txt" in \sdcard_bt_can to close canion automatically. So i start/stopp canion via ignition-key.

Most known issues are bluetooth related. So use only one bluetooth app on the android device canion is running. Perhaps WLAN/WiFi is disturbing: switch of WLAN/WiFi on the android device for testing. Sometimes also the android device is poor, it can not handle the datastream. So a faster android device is needed.


Martin
... en route with a Citroen C-Zero, Bj. 8/2012 (http://www.spritmonitor.de/en/detail/532466.html)
... our website: http://www.facebook.com/emobility.at
Post Reply