Timh's 1965 Mk1 Cortina project

Post up a thread for your EV. Progress pics, description and assorted alliteration
TimH
Noobie

Timh's 1965 Mk1 Cortina project

Post by TimH »

Hi all

I picked up a written off Mitsubishi i-Miev and plan on transplanting all the running gear, batteries, air-con etc into my 1965 Mk1 Cortina 440.

I'll post some pics of the progress here. I welcome any advice as i'm new to all this. Fortunately have had some great help so far from members here in Brisbane.

Here's some details on my plans. The i-miev motor seems to be a good match for the Cortina:

At this stage planning to remove the reduction gear and mount the i-miev motor to the 4 speed gearbox of the Cortina. Have contemplated trying to find a combo that could enable direct drive, but not convinced about that yet, obviously keeping the gearbox is the simplest. The Cortina diff is 4.1. The reduction gear on the i-miev is 7.1.

Here's some pics of the Cortina:

Cheers,
Tim
Last edited by TimH on Mon, 20 Aug 2018, 17:53, edited 2 times in total.
TimH
Noobie

Re: Timh's 1965 Mk1 Cortina project

Post by TimH »

Just got the battery pack out of the i-miev.
TimH
Noobie

Post by TimH »

Pack looks good, will have to rearrange slightly to fit in boot over rear axle.
woody

Post by woody »

Nice! Whereabouts are you located?
Planned EV: '63 Cortina using AC and LiFePO4 Battery Pack
TimH
Noobie

Post by TimH »

woody wrote: Mon, 20 Aug 2018, 15:43 Nice! Whereabouts are you located?
Brisbane. I have edited the opening post with some more details. How far are you with your Cortina conversion?
brendon_m

Post by brendon_m »

What's the plan for the electronics? Bms, charger, controller etc.
Aftermarket stuff or are you planning on transplanting everything from the imiev
jonescg

Post by jonescg »