Hello From Castlemaine

Technical discussion on converting internal combustion to electric
Madmax
Noobie

Hello From Castlemaine

Post by Madmax »

Hi Everyone,

My name is Matt and this is my first post on AEVA. I am a mechanical engineer and have a reasonable skillset with mechanical systems and tools.

I am interested in performing an EV conversion and would like some input into what car to convert.
Ideally the EV would have the same or better acceleration up to ~120km/h, top speed around that or higher and a range of 130kms+

The options I have at the moment are:
1976 VW Mk1 Golf 2 Door             Cda 0.8, 810kg, 80kW, 140NM,
1968 Alfa Romeo 1750 Berlina      Cda ??, 1050kg, 115kW, 200NM
1990 Alfa Romeo 75          Cda 0.65, 1120kg, 110kW, 186NM
1992 Suzuki Sierra/Maruti Ute      Cda 1.0? 900kg, 60kW, 73NM

All have pros and cons. For instance, the golf is light, would be an easy conversion with the gearbox retained, seats 4 but has a terrible Cda.

The Berlina is a bit of a rocket so it may cost a bit to replicate performance, and the chassis may not be up to carrying battery mass. It does have a 4.5:1 final drive so maybe a direct drive candidate….

The 75 would ideally use a direct drive motor in place of the transaxle. This would potentially yield a car with decent range at the same weight as original however a direct drive motor and sourcing an IRS differential will add significant cost.

The suzuki would be super easy (low powered to start with, transfer case has 2 speeds, lots of room for a battery under the tray, no power brakes or steering) but is a 2 seater....Also, the zuke would easily accept 800+ watts of PV over the tray and cabin, meaning that its battery is getting a tickle. The zuke would only be used locally so 50 Kms range would be fine.

Newer cars typically have better Cd but they generally suck in many other ways... So I would prefer to extend the useful life of a more classic car than something with no charm.