Planning Scooter Conversion

Technical discussion on converting internal combustion to electric
Pumba
Noobie

Post by Pumba » Thu, 22 Aug 2013, 23:32

Hi everyone, hoping for a bit of advice on my first conversion: an electric Vespa.

I'm an electrical engineering student, so have a small amount of knowledge, and am eager to learn more. Eventually I'd like to convert a car, but I figure starting with a scooter might be a good stepping stone, while I gain some knowledge, and money Image

I've already got the Vespa, just in the process of registering then selling the motor.

I'm in the planning stage, trying to figure out what will work best, will probably drop the money for the parts in about 6 months.

I've seen Soyachips Vespa conversion on this forum and have gotten some good ideas from it, however for my conversion I'd like to use a hub motor, for simplicity, and it will leave maximum room for batteries. I plan on having two equally sized battery packs under each cowl of the Vespa for equal weight distribution, and putting the other components under the seat with the gas tank removed.

Here's an initial selection of the main parts:
6KW 72v 10" hub motor
200A Kelly Controller
Headway 15ah cells
MiniBMS (not really sure about this, suggestions?)

I've calculated I can fit about 60-70 Headway cells maximum under the cowls total (a bit more than 30 under each), but will do more precise measurements soon. This leaves me with 2 options: 1) Run 24S2P giving me 72v 30ah (2.1kwh), or 2) Run 32S2P giving 96v 30ah (2.9kwh). The motor is specified for 72v, but I can only fit in the above to battery configureations, and I think option 1 might limit my range a bit (I'm hoping for over 50km).