Can I fix my TC/Elcon charger myself?

How do you store and manage your electricity?
coulomb
Site Admin

Post by coulomb » Mon, 23 Jun 2014, 00:58

GRMarks wrote: Hey weber early in your post you played with elcon chargers (now TC chargers), you opened one up and had a peek inside. Mine has just died 1/2 way through charging. Is there a fuse inside (wishful thinking thats its something simple)? I am not an electrical engineer so I may have to take it to someone to get it fixed. But if there are some simple potential problem points I could check out those things first before taking it to someone.
I've been mucking about with these chargers lately, and talking to people that know them even better.

Yes, there are fuses inside. As Weber mentioned in another thread, there is a mains fuse; after opening it (there are 1.5 zillion screws) just follow the mains lead. Near where it terminates on the PC board, there is a fuse. It may indeed be soldered in. I've not heard of these blowing frequently.

There is also a fuse at the DC end; it may be in heatshrink tubing. I've not heard of these DC fuses blowing often, either, and the heatshrink suggests that they don't expect to replace them often. From the silk screening on the printed circuit board, it may be flat down like the AC fuse, or vertical as shown below.

Image   Image

The larger chargers are in fact two chargers in one box, hence the two sets of read and black leads near the fuse above. Both sides have independent fuses.