Importing electric bikes

Open for any sort of non-technical discussion regarding EVs
greenmover
Noobie

Importing electric bikes

Post by greenmover »

Gidday all, I'm looking at importing bikes, I've got an idea that if we prove the market witrh what's available, there are improvements to design that can make them better transport, I'm not technical enough to see improvements to motors etc, but that's happening elsewhere.
Basically to prove I can do it though, I want to bring a couple of dozen in and re sell them.
I'm looking for an insurer for public liability, product liability, blah blah, and no one wants to do the business. Who does anyone else know that insures electric vehicles?

IVI
Groupie

Importing electric bikes

Post by IVI »

Are we talking Public Liability, for your business?

...or the kind of bike insurance that a buyer of such a product might purchase?

If it's the former (& you don't find anything else) I think there was a UK insurer, that marketed itself as a company ready to insure almost "anything"
(maybe it was Lloyds of London? It's been a while. Maybe they're out of business?)

If it's the latter, I think there was an Aussie insurer of motorbikes, who might see EB's in the same category; you should be able to find them adverising at larger motorbike shops.

Let us know how you go, where you're setting up & what you're offering & some price examples.

Do you plan to sell EB's online at all?

IVI
Groupie

Importing electric bikes

Post by IVI »

eBay vendors seem to list these in at least 2 categories:

+ Cycling &
+ Scooters

"Featured" items in Cycling carry surprisingly high price-tags,
suggesting that they're paying "too much" for insurance, or
just trying to "train" the near-virgin marketplace to pay heaps.

Maybe it's to early to expect these to be priced as "commodity"
products, yet, but - if you want to see more people trying &
buying them - somebody's going to have to offer at least -soms-
at "introductory" pricing. :-)

antiscab