AEVA Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > AEVA Branches > Non-Branch areas
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Mini conversion to Electric

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Noobie
Noobie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MiniTaiko Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Mini conversion to Electric
    Posted: 27 March 2011 at 12:00pm
G'day from Hobart,
This is my first post to this AEVA forum. It comes through wanting to know if anyone in Hobart or Tassie in general is converting or has converted an old mini to electric?
I have been considering supercharging my mini that I've had for 25 years and realise it's going to be expensive. Not that converting to Electric is going to be cheaper, far from it I would say.
Because fuel prices are going through the roof I am more inclined to want an electric conversion as range is not really an issue down here in Hobart and I like the thought of going faster with not much noise to go with it.
If anyone wants to help me get an idea of what size motors etc I'm going to need and then help to build then I'd appreciate that.
I do have things to swap or sell to afford this conversion.
TasyMoke View Drop Down
Noobie
Noobie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TasyMoke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 April 2011 at 3:41pm
I too am considering a mini (moke) conversion, also in Tasmania.
There is talk of a a group forming I will keep you posted
EV2Go View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote EV2Go Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 April 2011 at 5:14pm
Having owned a reasonably quick Mini in the past (1360 with big cam and full race ported, big valve, Cooper S head) I can gaurantee you will still have the same issue if you go electric and that is torque steer.