AEVA Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Discussion > Technical and conversion discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Converting a 2010 Honda Jazz to electric

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Noobie
Noobie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mercmobily Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Converting a 2010 Honda Jazz to electric
    Posted: 20 September 2016 at 7:29pm
I have my great Honda Jazz. It's a great little car. I would like to convert it to electric.
I am a software engineer, and a close friend of mine is a fantastic mechanic and panel beater.

The engine *works*, but I believe in an electric future and don't want to be the one polluting my children's air.

I live in Perth. So, speed in not an issue, but range is.

Questions:

* What is a producer of a *good* quality kit?
* Is a range of 140Km on 80% charge achievable? Note that I am after distance, NOT power/speed.
* Is the weight of the batteries a problem for a little car like the jazz?
* What kind of cost can I expect, for the batteries and the kit?
* I saw the "hints" section, which was FANTASTIC! Any specific hints about a newbie like me?
* What kind of money am I looking at, for the kit (controller/batteries/motor), without labour?
* As a software engineer, can I help? In terms of controller, are there programmable ones I can tinker with?
* Will it be hard to get it through the pits?

THANK YOU PEOPLE!

Merc.
Paul9 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Paul9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 September 2016 at 8:01am
Hi Merc and welcome,

Almost everyone on this forum knows more than I do but I'll throw in my 20cents worth.

* What is a producer of a *good* quality kit?